Perirhinal and postrhinal cortex

The perirhinal (PER) and postrhinal (POR) cortex are situated dorsally along the rhinal fissure. Both consist of six cell layers. The PER consist of two subdivisions, the agranular area 35 (A35) and the dysgranular area 36 (A36) or ectorhinal cortex. POR consists of a ventral agranular and dorsal (dys)granular region. The rostral border of POR with PER is difficult to discern. The ventral part of POR is quite similar to A35, but the presence of ectopic layer II cells makes it possible to discriminate the region. In the PER and POR, layer IV is variably developed.

© Copyright 2007 - 2023 N.L.M. Cappaert & N.M. van Strien. All rights reserved. Content is available under Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported. Currently this work is financially supported by the Dutch Research Council. Project DOI: 10.21942/uva.19786213.v1